Tags

, , , , ,

It’s been a trying week from technology perspective. First last week, on a bright Saturday morning, I woke up feeling at peace with the world in general and with great ambition of penning ..er…it is typing some magnificent words in prose for my never –will-be –completed novel. I made myself a large cup of tea, switched on my laptop and then sat down to write in earnest; the screen went blink and fuzzy in 5 minutes and then completely white. No amount rebooting and lopsided shaking (Yes! It works!!) could get the screen to display anything but the pristine whiteness, something that did not help my rising temper. Frustrated by the evening I dropped it off to a repair center, who called me a day later and said that it would take 4 days or so to fix it and the reason my screen had given up living, (I do believe that inanimate objects have a soul!) is because some tea had fallen in its junctures (you know the place where it connects to the motherboard!) Oh!!! Sob! Sob! Wail!!! Naturally the repair would not be cheap (More Sob! Sob! Wail!!!) and just when I thought I would have some extra cash in my hand! The road to hell is truly and honestly paved with good intentions! Finally after 5 days when I got the laptop back, the internet stopped working due to a terrible storm that hit this part of the world and finally after another two days of enforced hiatus from the cyber world, last evening my entire technology related puzzle fell into place and now everything is working as it is supposed to. Or so I thought…then suddenly I realized by Blackberry’s keypad has stopped typing ….they will not type a thing!! This to me who texts more than she calls…and I DO NOT have the energy to chase down Blackberry Customer Service anymore!!

In other and brighter news, my best friend and flatmate, decided to take pity on my ghastly week and treat me to an awesome Italian dinner last night. Lots of cheese, cream and an amazing ice cream pudding made the world a much better place (I am aware of cholesterol and all that…but everyone is allowed an indulgence!!) The evening got better when we made an impromptu detour to our favorite bookshop where I promptly dispensed with all my remaining savings in buying all the below –

bpic

It’s not like either my flatmate or I needed new books…we had plenty to in our reading list, and I know I need to really save and well there are reasons for not buying anything but this is what happens when I go there – everytime!!

Bookstore

Hence the splurge and I could almost justify all the books I bought…almost!!I had lost my copy of Rebecca and Sherlock Holmes and no collection can be called complete in the absence of these two books. At the shop owners recommendation and he really knows good books and what I like, I bought Robert Galbraith (aka J.K.Rowling’s) Cormoran Strike novels. My sister had ranted and raving about Guy Gavriel Kay ‘s The Lions of Al-Rassan, so naturally I had to pick that up and then Jane had such high praises for The True and Splendid History of the Harristown Sisters by Michelle Lovric that I could not let that go either. I also picked up for my history reading project War and Gold by Kwasi Kwarteng (Yes! I have been reading History…just not blogging about them…don’t ask me why!! And finally for a no better reason than a whim, I also purchased Bernard Cornwell’s Stonehenge.

Considering the troublesome nature of the week and the temptations that lie waiting in form of brand new unopened novels, I keep this post short! I hope your week went better than mine and your weekend as wonderful if not better!!

