Tags

, , , ,

I will keep this post short and simple… to begin with seems like my technology challenges continue…. every time I type the system seems to pick up an extra alphabet…so when I type an O, an RO comes…don’t ask me what is going on!!! To add to my woes, I have been laid up the entire weekend with fever and its looks like I will have to call in sick on Monday…a task I really dislike!!! (I mean I do not like it when my team calls in sick on a Monday…same rule thus applies to me!! Yes I am kinda conscientious!) Thus the short way out!!! The two good things that have made this rather depressing weekend bearable is – The first one being – being sick means doing no household stuff and reading (I know I read anyway, but not doing household chores is rather fun…like an unexpected vacation!!!) I have re-read the entire Sherlock Holmes series and a breathtaking novel that came my way by Jane’s review called “The People in the Photo” by Hélène Gestern… a wonderful work about which I will write once my keypad begins working as normal again and I don’t have to edit every word!! The 2nd thing being The Classic Club spin is on and naturally that is one perk-me-up. I have read some great works because this event and with the exception of Madame Bovary and Middlemarch, all the books I read through this event have become my favorites. Thus without further ado….I present to you my choice of the 20, one of which I will read for the August spin –

  1. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
  2. To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
  3. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez
  4. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  5. Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? by Edward Albee
  6. The House of Spirits by Isabel Allende
  7. The Wings of Dove by Henry James
  8. Washington Square by Henry James
  9. The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
  10. Main Street by Sinclair Lewis
  11. Death in Venice by Thomas Mann
  12. he Good Solider by Ford Maddox Ford
  13. The Small House at Allington by Anthony Trollope
  14. Love in Times of Cholera by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez
  15. Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
  16. Can You Forgive Her by Anthony Trollope
  17. Katherine by Anya Seton
  18. Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett
  19. A Room with a View by E.M Forstero
  20. 1984 by George Orwell

The rules are as always simple-

  • Pick 20 Classics of your choice
  • On Monday, i.e. Aug 11th, the Club will pick a number
  • You read the book that you have marked against the number through August  and September….
  • You write your review of the if possible at the end of this time period

That is all I can manage to write for now with backward/forward spell checks….I sign off with a quiet prayer that this may be the end of the black cloud of technology curse that seems to surround me….

 

 

 

