Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Just when I thought, my reading plans toppleth over, Classic Club  decides to launch its last spin for the year….now how can I give that up???!!! Not that I do not have enough in my to-read list, I have now added one more. However going by my earlier post resolution, I have included only the books I really want to read/re-read! (It’s Christmas and I am allowed indulgence – so no books that I don’t want to read or books I am dreading reading and all that!) This is keeping in spirit with my December reading plan of  I-Will-not-finish-the-year-without-finishing-these-books-self-event.

The rules are as always simple and I quote verbatim from the site page –

  • Pick twenty books that you’ve got left to read from your Classics Club List.
  • Try to challenge yourself: list five you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.) (Like I said…I am kind of cheating on this one and reading only authors I want to read!!!!!)
  • Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog by next Monday.
  • Monday morning, Classic Club will announce a number from 1-20. Go to the list of twenty books and select the book that corresponds to the number announced.
  • The challenge is to read that book by January 5, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading! (No fair not listing any scary ones!)

Here goeth my list –

  1. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
  2. To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
  3. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez
  4. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  5. Can You Forgive Her? By Anthony Trollope
  6. Wives and Daughter by Elizabeth Gaskell
  7. Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell
  8. The Taming of the Shrew by William Shakespeare
  9. Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  10. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
  11. Hamlet – William Shakespeare Hamlet by William Shakespeare
  12. A Handful of Dust by Evelyn Waugh
  13. My Antonia by Willa Carther
  14. A Room with a View by E.M.Forster
  15. A Bend in the River by V.S. Naipaul
  16. Main Street by Sinclair Lewis
  17. Out of Africa by Isak Dinesen
  18. The Beautiful and the Dammed by F.Scott Fitzgerald
  19. The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde
  20. The Small House at Allington by Anthony Trollope

Phew! Finally!! There goes my list. I know I have repeated a few authors, but I can safely say, that I have not any of these works, so at least I strive in a new direction!!

