Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I know! I know! It’s been far too long that I have been away! The leaves have fallen from the trees and children have grown old and all that! (Yes! I know I am indulging in simple bombastic melodrama, including the blog title) But I have been again on a mini blogging hiatus, simply because my day job, aka. The Project Manager got really crazy and we had two back to back conferences, where everybody had a point and I had to ensure every one’s point was accommodated and yada yada!

In between all of this, I had several minor technology crises – my phone died! I mean it died. It simply refused to work again, no amount of charging and attempts to power on worked and I realized that I had to (Sob! Sob! ) buy a new phone! I am not a gadgety person – give me a cell phone and I will make it work for atleast 5 years and this one broke down after only 4 years!! I am so not impressed. Anyway so I bought a phone and there was all the hullabaloo about switching plans and moving all my contacts and getting used to a touch pad (which I hate! And yes! My phone was that old – when keypads were a REQUIREMENT). Just when I had the phone figured out, my laptop screen decided to crazy and developed streaks. Suddenly everything came through in various shaded of grey, light grey, blue and dark blue. So the screen had to be replaced! Needless to say there was not too much time left to do anything!

I was so exhausted most of the days after managing projects and technology that all I wanted was a light read – so I dug up all my old Asterix Comic books and I read them all. I know the plots are all similar and kind of repetitive, but I do love the puns and the “foreign relations”. They gave me a good break from all that was mundane and stressful.

I am also almost through with Kazuo Ishiguro’s “The Remains of the Day”. I want to kick myself for having waited so long to read this. It is such a brilliant piece of work, with subtle humor and deep insights. I have to read more Ishiguro for sure! I will hopefully be able to share a more detailed review in a day or two

I am also really enjoying Jane Austen’s “Northanger Abbey”. I had completely forgotten how witty the book is. I also somehow cannot recollect why I thought Henry Tilney to be such a colorless character. True he is no Mr. Darcy or Captain Wentworth, but that’s where his worth is – in his being absolutely every day, but a good every day! I so loved his dry irreverent humor!

My progresses through my non-fictional works have been sporadic and surprising. I kind of thought that John Norwich’s tome “The Short History of Byzantium” would be heavy and difficult to get through. It is very academic but it’s also interspersed with anecdotes and humor that not only is it a historically rich book, but actually a fun read! The same cannot however be said about Gerard Russell’s “Heirs to Forgotten Kingdoms”. It’s kind of all over the place that as a reader you are constantly worrying as to how all the dots are connected! I still have a couple of chapters to go, but I am not holding out much hope!

To finish this reading update, I want to just touch upon the serious genius of Terry Pratchett – my flatmate says he is not an author, but a do gooder, altruistic man. I have to agree – in one of those bizzare and extremely stressful days, I picked up his “Feet of Clay” for a re-read and within 2 hours, he had made the world a far better and humane place for me, without being didactic or pedagogic, all the while managing to tell a great story with a LOT of ROFL moments! You are a genius Sir Pratchett and the world is a better place because of writers like you!

That’s my “small” note to put you all up to speed with my “happening, fast paced, never a moment to breathe” life! I will be back soon talking more about books!!

