Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Alas  February commeth and winter almost goeth!!Woe is me!! My heart breaketh and tis another 10 months before the cold winds toucheth me again! Farewell! Farewell! Kind friend!! How thine shall be missed, thine knoweth not!!!!

Yes! I will stop now! I think I will lose almost all my readers if I DO NOT stop NOW!

Well despite the coming and goings of seasons, books persist and I have a LONG reading list for a relatively short month! Primarily there is significant spill over from January, which turned out to be a really bad reading month, especially in the latter half as my work got to me and spun me around and around. But to paraphrase Erasmus, If I have money, I buy books and then food and then clothes, but for that money, I need to work! Such is life!

Going back to me reading plan, I still have Heirs to Forgotten Kingdoms” by Gerard Russell; I am simply not making any head way with the book, despite all my obsessions about Middle East and Religious politics. I will give it a try for next couple of days and if I do not hook onto it, I will give it up. I am making great progress with John Norwich’s “The Short History of Byzantium”; big and scholarly book but very much worth the investment. I have also added another book to my nonfiction reading for this month – “Mythologies” by Roland Barthes. The book is something of a legend and much recommended by all my friends from the sociology department, during my university years!

In Fiction, update, I am planning to finish reading “All The Light We Cannot See” by Anthony Doerr. I began this book last week and so far, very good. I also on a whim picked up A.S.Byatt’s “Possessions”; I am not much of a Byatt fan, but am so far liking what I have read, which barely two chapters! Thanks to Jane I have “Enchanter’s Nightshade” by Ann Bridges,downloaded and ready for reading on my Kindle. I also have in my to read list “The Enchanted April” by Elizabeth Von Arnim (I need enhancements around me!). Finally as part of Goodread’s Women Literature Enthusiast’s I am  all set to read Nadine Gordimer’s “July’s People”. I was also planning to read something as part of my Reading England Project, but considering the old proverb about biting and chewing, I decided, I will keep this one hold for next month!

Well, that’s all for my bookish news. I will end this post with this really cool Jacob Creek’s Personality Quiz….it’s fun and highly unusual from run of the mill personality quizzes. I got Made By Heart….Ahem! Ahem! “You know the strength of your moral compassion is a defining feature and you’ll almost always choose loving over fighting. You often wear it on your sleeve, you’re made by heart.” Chardonnay and Shiraz and Martin Luther King and Oprah Winfrey all rolled into one!! So what are you – Determined, Creative, Intuitive or By Heart?  Do let me know!

http://www.jacobscreek.com/madeby/questionnaire

