Tags

, , , , ,

There is something called the self-fulfilling prophecy…these days I am becoming a staunch, absolutely staunch adherent to this thing. If you wish it, it will happen! I share with you a simple illustrative example – just last night, I was thinking it’s been ages since I participated in the Classic Club Spin read; after all this event is a good way to get me to read some of the stuff I dread! And lo! Behold! The first thing I see this morning when I open my system is that Classic Club is announcing their Spin#9. There is naturally no question of “not participating”.

The Spin rules are as always simple –

  • Pick 20 Classics of your choice
  • On Monday, i.e. April 6th, the Club will pick a number
  • You read the book that you have marked against the number by May 15th

And now for the list. In the spirit of things, I decided to make the list a little more challenging and listed 20 books I really kind of nervous taking up.

  1. To The Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
  2. The Awakening by Kate Chopin
  3. Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? by Edward Albee
  4. The House of Spirits by Isabel Allende
  5. Daisy Miller by Henry James
  6. Washington Square by Henry James
  7. The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
  8. On the Road by Jack Kerouac
  9. Main Street by Sinclair Lewis
  10. Death in Venice by Thomas Mann
  11. A Room with a View by M Forster
  12. Howard’s End by M Forster
  13. The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells
  14. The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy
  15. The House of Seven Gables by Nathanie Hawthorne
  16. Of Human Bondage by Somerset Maugham
  17. A Bend in the River by V.S. Naipaul
  18. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcí­a Márque
  19. Windsor Castle by William Harrison Ainsworth
  20. The Last Days of Pompeii by Edward Bulwer-Lytton

That’s the list! And Now I sit, biting my nails till April 6th!!!

