Tags

, , , ,

Let me share with all of you, how I spent my extremely exciting Saturday night! I paid my bills, planned meals for next week (have several leadership visits through the week, so need to plan ahead for easy to cook/good to eat type stuff) grocery shopping and hunting the market for a cover for my Tab. And this brings us to the tale of the Tab – I have a great Tab, it’s a local make, but sturdy and hardy and suffices for my most important need – e-reading! I love this machine and have never ventured out of the house with it, for the fear of wrecking it. The problem you see is of the cover – since it’s a local make, my extremely bourgeois retailers do not cater to a decent cover for its make –size/shape etc! They offer me fancy covers for I-PADs, Kindle Fire, Lenovo, Samsung etc etc. but nod there in resignation with a slight touch of amusement, when I take out my poor non fancy non brand tab! Hence I never took the poor tab out of the house and in a way kind of self-defeated it very purpose of existence! However last night I was determined to find a cover for the tab, come hail or snow! The straw had finally broken the camel’s back and the time had come when I sorely needed a cover, so that I could take the tab out and plonk in to the purse whenever required without adding to too much to its bulk. My poor purse, actually it’s a gargantuan sized office bag, shaped to look like a distant cousin to ladies bag,  carries my laptop., my big fat diary, my daily Knick knacks , a bottle of water and now hopefully the Tab!

But why suddenly the urge to carry the tab you ask? What was the straw that broke my back? (Yes! I am the aforementioned camel!)That you see is the crux of this rambling post – ever since I have been working, I have been in a habit of carrying a book to read in the cab. Now considering my bag is already spilleth over and 9 out of 10 cases, the book I was reading was a tome, I would carry it in my hand and keep it on my workstation, in the plain view of the world. This naturally had many and mostly completely non-original side effects –People would walk over, look at the book, try to understand the story/plot/thesis of the book via the blurb and then bombard me with inane and absolutely mundane questions –

  1. Do you like reading? No, I think the book accentuates my outfit! Duh! I have been carrying a book since you have known me, which is centuries considering I have been working in the same organization for 10 years and now you ask me this!!! Besides in the words of Scout Finch – I don’t know if I like reading; does one like breathing???
  2. How can you read while coming to work? Did I ask you how can you listen to heavy metal when coming to work?
  3. Is this a good book? Really are you interested in a literary discussion; my bet is No and you are just wasting time, waiting for my colleague to return to her desk, so that you can get on with whatever was your purpose in coming over!
  4. How can you read history? Stop being so judgmental! Did I ask you how you can watch Fast& Furious or whatever slapstick you were watching?
  5. Can you give me names for some good book which I could read? Define a “good book”? I mean do you want to read literature e/classics/history/sci-fi/thriller/romance/romcom/spy/sports/biography/leadership/psychology/poetry?   “Oh! I don’t know but something light but good…anything but no too heavy, but good”…argh!!!!!
  6. Reading again? How can you read so much? Do I ask how can you smoke/eat/talk/watch television etc etc so much?
  7. Oh! This book – have you seen the movie? No I have not nor will I, but do I ask you have you read the book?
  8. Have you read Twilight/50 Shades of Grey? I have nothing against these books, except they have made populist reading into a whole new level of insanity! I really want to turn around and ask the next person who asks me this question and ask – Have you read The Rebel or War and Peace!
  9. A new book again? How can you read so fast! I have special superpowers!
  10. Can I borrow a book? Oh! No! No! No! And this was the straw; yesterday afternoon while cleaning the first two shelves of book 5 bookshelves, I discovered 12 titles missing – 6 books per shelves…..oh!! so not good! I then recollected some of them which had been borrowed and called up the borrowers – most were nice and said will get them on Monday/Tuesaday/ next weekend; however there were some “Oh! I know you gave me the book, but I don’t remember where did I leave it!” “Oh! My baby tore it up…so sorry; will buy you a new copy!” “Some tea got spilled over, only the introduction was damaged, but the remaining is all good – you have already read it anyway. Right?!!”

Oh! Dear! The joys of being a Reader! Anyway, therefore I am going to start using my tab and hence the quest for its cover (I did manage to get an ugly brown thing, but it fits!) Going forward my Tab goes with me to work – fortunately since I don’t share a cab, I will not be asked/tormented with any of these questions and it goes right into my bag, at least 5 minutes before I approach work! So there!

