Books · Classic Club · Classics · English Literature · Fiction · Ideas · Literature · Novels · Reading

December, Reading & More…..

I know I have been away, but this time it was a good away. I was on road trip with bunch of friends visiting one of the most underrated ruins of medieval world, Vijaynagar. I will post up a bunch of pictures about this wonderful city in ruins soon with a bit of history (dependent on when my flatmate downloads the pictures from her camera!) In the meanwhile, December is here; my favorite month ….the birthday month, the holiday season month, the off with old and one with the new month! I celebrate it, naturally with books and more books.

To begin with, as part of my Women’s Classic Literature Reading Event as well as my Reading England Project, I have started reading Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s Aurora Leigh. Jane had blogged about it way back and since then it has been on my TBR forever. I am LOVING the poem so far! I have also decided to join Sarah Emsley and Dolce Bellze’s Emma Readlong, celebrating the 200 years of publication of Emma by Jane Austen.  Being December, I have naturally overloaded myself with more books than I can possibly read – I am almost done with third Cormoran Strike Novel; this volume is just something else and there is too much of harsh reality to absorb, but I just cannot seem to stop. I have also began Kazuo Ishiguro’sThe Buried Giant, and, well I will review it pretty soon. I also have Azar Nafisi’s Republic of Imagination lined up, but I am not sure if I will be able to finish it this year.  I also bought Anita Desai’s Baumgartner’s Bombay on a whim and I plan to finish this volume soon. Finally, I realized that while I was reading extensively in English, I have not read much, especially in recent years in my native languages of Hindi and Bengali. There is a vast pool of literature that is available in both the languages and some of most beautiful prose ever written is in Bengali. Therefore, it is but natural that I begin re-reading some works in this language and towards this end, I also started reading “Kitne Pakistan” (literally meaning How many Pakistans) by Kamaleshwar – it is a courtroom drama where historical figures are bought in to be tried to understand why  was India partitioned in 1947. It’s quite a gripping read so far.

Now if this reading was not exciting enough, Classic Club is doing Spin#11 and how could I possibly give this up? The Rules are as always simple enough –

  • Pick twenty books that you’ve got left to read from your Classics Club List.
  • Try to challenge yourself: list five you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)
  • Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog by next Monday.
  • Monday morning, they will announce a number from 1-20. Go to the list of twenty books you posted, and select the book that corresponds to the number we announce.
  • The challenge is to read that book by December/January, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading!

Here goes my list –

  1. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez
  2. A Portrait of an Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce
  3. The Clan Of The Cave Bear by Jean M Auel
  4. The Wings of a Dove by Henry James
  5. Crime And Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  6. Love in the Times of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  7. Lucky Jim by Kingsley Amis
  8. Death Comes to the Archbishop by Willa Cather
  9. Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe
  10. Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? by Edward Albee
  11. Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett
  12. Doll’s House by Henrick Ibsen
  13. Main Street by Sinclair Lewis
  14. Death in Venice by Thomas Mann
  15. The Last Chronicle of Barset by Anthony Trollope
  16. The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens
  17. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain
  18. Taming of the Shrew by William Shakespeare
  19. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
  20. Queen Lucia by E F Benson

Now I wait with bated breath for Monday to arrive!

To end, as you can all see, I have changed my blog pages a bit as some things were really not working out, while I was racing in others. I thought, it best to go with the flow and therefore took off The Poetry Project and the A Century of Books and instead replaced them with Reading England and Women’s Classic Literature Event. In the near future sometime, I hope to get back to both these abandoned projects and then may re-open these pages.

That all for tonight folks! Happy Reading!

17 thoughts on “December, Reading & More…..

    1. I fell in love with Cather last year, when the Spin made me read My Antonia….I so wish to read her work again! RSC and Taming of the Shrew….what a combination…:)

  1. Oh, it’s so fun to read about your reading adventures. I should start doing this as well. I really look forward to you and O’s (Behold the Stars) beginning of the month posts!

    I just finished Emma. I think it was my four or fifth read and I loved it all over again. Have fun with your read-along!

    Death Comes for the Archbishop was great. Cather’s an underrated author, IMO. There are a few on your list which are on my Classics Club list, so if they come up, I might read along with you. I’m pushing to finish a few books for the end of December but I have nothing concrete for January except my biographies, so I feel somewhat free. It’s probably an inaccurate feeling, but it’s nice to feel that way for awhile. 😉

    Happy spinning!

    1. Cleo …if I know us there will be more books for you to read, simply because you think you are free. 🙂 I agree with you that Cather is one of the most underrated authors and if I do not get in the Spin, I will read it independently…I so hope we get some common books for a read along. I love Emma….have re-read it countless number of times, but I can do it again. Austen never looses her charm!

  2. OH MY GOODNESS! I just had to comment on your redesigned blog!! It looks so AWESOME! WOW!

    I have been thinking about doing something with mine but I have no idea how to go about it and I’d rather read than spend the time figuring it out. But perhaps one day ……

    Just …… WOW!!! …….

    1. Thanks Cleo…I was kind of tired of the white background…This is way to baroque for me, but I thought I will give it a shot anyway! Thank You for the kind words, dear lady! 🙂

      1. hahhhaaa…yes Cleo….I do sense the sarcasm..I did not have it, so bought…will have it by Thursday and we can start!! BTW….when do you sleep??? It must be like 1:3o AM when you wrote this comment!

Leave a Reply

