Tags

, , , ,

Yup …today is the BIG day….it’s the Blogoversary for Mockingbirds, Looking Glasses and Prejudices! Four years ago, completely disgusted with pink and fluffy madness that envelops the world when we say 14th February, I had made a timid attempt at spewing my angst by talking about Saki’s idea of celebration an Enemies Day, quoting people I wanted to really share the latter day with. Many moons later, I am still here and surprise, surprise, so is the Blog.

Yet so much has changed…my writing skills to begin with. I cringe when I look my old attempts (Please for the love of God, DO NOT look them up!) and I am very very sure that if I survive another five years, I will cringe at what I am writing today! Back then I used to rack my brains about what I should write about, but then one day, some four months down the line, enlightenment came to me and I knew I will write about the thing most important to me, books. Over the years, this resolution has been modified and I have blogged about history, friends, relatives, celebrations and vacations. But perhaps what has made this journey so much more fulfilling and rewarding , was how it opened me to new ideas,aka adventures (from MOOC classes to Ginger Carrot Soups) new books I NEVER knew off or would not dare to read (Margaret Kennedy (authors I never knew) and Virginia Woolf  (Authors I did not dare to read)) and finally and most importantly that I developed this whole community of readers, some who became close friends. Friends who introduced me to books, got me interested in hobbies I would have never ever thought myself capable off (Gardening, Knitting, Learning Latin….the last still being conceptualized and I think you all know who you all are!) and supported me with warmth and care on some of the darkest periods of my life, across thousands of miles and vast oceans, without ever having even once seen me in person!

There is so much to celebrate and there is so much of gratitude that I feel for everyone who takes the time out to read my babble and like and comment or simply visit like an old friend, dropping in without any formalities! Thank you all!!I am humbled by your kindness and attention! A mere thank you is not enough, but that is all I can say because while not enough, it is the most apt for the moment!

 

So here’s to all my sunshines and my secret place where I can be who I want to be….

 

