Books · Classics · Empowerment · England · English Literature · Fun · Historical Fiction · History · Humour · Literature · New Beginnings · New Year · Non Fiction · Novels · Reading · Resolutions · Work · Writing

The First of the First….

Ah! Well, the much looked forward to December is now gone and January beckons! Without breaking into my usual song and dance histrionics about the misery of getting back to routine and moaning the loss of much beloved vacation time, I must say, I do not feel too bad, not too perky either, but more like zen, knowing that this too shall pass!

And while it passes, it’s time to make plans for 2017. The plan for 2017 is to have no plans! I mean it!! I have huge mammoth work effort coming up that will test my organizational and project management skills and this project could make or break my career. Therefore for this year alone, the only place I want to focus on planning is at work! That’s it! Everything else I will take it as it comes; the idea will be to continue improving myself, like run more marathons and maybe do a trek and of course, write more; but outside of that, there is flow chart and project plan to stick too!

This campaign naturally extends to my reading plans for the year! I decided late in 2016, I was too involved in trying to track reading plans and this year with work going through the roof, there is no way I will be able to do justice to any reading challenges or plans. Instead I will read like I used to initially, picking up what I like and joining my friends when they read something really interesting or host an event that really gets me excited! Therefore in a stark departure to several years of define reading challenges, this year, I stand independent and do not join any!

Having said all of that, as far as books and temptations are concerned, I will always be TEMPTED to join some or the other reading event. In that spirit, I will be joining Dolce Bellezza as she hosts the read along for Captivity by Gyorgy Spiro for this month. It’s a historical chunkster set during Roman Empire, narrated from the point of view of a Roman Jew as he captures the time between Christ’s death and the outbreak of the Jewish Wars. With such a premise, can I but say, that I am really really excited about this one!! Jane is hosting Margery Sharp Day and since she introduced me to this brilliant author last year, I have become a Sharp devotee. Naturally, there is no way I will miss this event to celebrate her works and I will be joining Jane and other to read Britannia Mews by Margery Sharp. If life seemed simple, so far, I have a tendency to make things a twinge more complex and therefore I will be joining Ruth and Cleo as they navigate The Well Educated Mind Histories Reading List and kick start the project with reading Histories by Herodotus. There is no way in the world, I will finish this book in January alone and I am sure, I this reading project with my ideas of reading some Eastern histories will turn into a 10 year effort! Like I said, complication is my middle name! Besides all of this, I have finally gotten around to reading All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. I have also started on Ravenspur, Part 4 of the War of Roses Series by Conn Iggulden. Finally, I still continue with the serialized reading of The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens, as part of O’s brilliant and innovative Reading Event.

So much for not having a plan….if this does not look, challenging, I am not sure what is. But then the idea was to read good books, and good books are never easy to read. Therefore, without further ado, let’s get started!

Happy Reading All!

13 thoughts on “The First of the First….

  1. How can you let work interfere so much in life?! 😉 For shame! I’ll pray everything at work moves along smoothly and quickly and finally settles down to something manageable.

    Was the Captivity book the one I said I’d join you reading? Goodness, I can’t remember!

    The plan is to take two months for The Histories, but I may take even more because I’m going to post per book. In any case, I’m soooo glad that you’re joining us.

    Happy New Year, kiddo! 😉

    1. Hahaahhhaaaa… 😀 Until I find the pot of gold, me shall have to let work run my life! lol! Yes, Captivity is the one you said you would join! (Yay!) Histories will take some time….but lets get started! Happy New Year to you and all your loved ones Cleo! Big Hug from the Orient!

  2. “I have huge mammoth work effort coming up that … could make or break my career.” I feel like I’m in the same boat. May we both succeed and also have time for reading our books!

  3. Wow, best of luck with your big work project! I’m sure you’ll do well. I think that taking it easy with the reading/blogging plans is a pretty smart decision — no need to add extra stress, right? Happy New Year!

    1. Thank you!! I need all the wishes to succeed this year! thanks a million! Reading is usually a stress buster, but I am not sure I can stick to a disciplined reading style, so I will take it as it comes!! A very Happy New Year to all you and yours!! 😀

  4. I began Captivity last night, and I’m relieved to say that it seems quite engaging. I love story, I love a novel which gives me a vision of what the author sees quite clearly. So glad you’ve joined me in your year of “no plans” which I completely understand! We’ll talk about Captivity near the end of the month, or earlier, as we finish.

    1. I started Captivity as well and I completely agree it is very engaging. It’s kind of important for a chunkster to tell a good story more than any other book and this one seems very good. Thank you again for hosting this event and and introducing me to an author and book I had little awareness off!!

    1. LOL!! I know…The OCD had to kick in. What I really meant was I will not do any reading challenges and say I will read this genre of book every month or such like! But plans, I get angsty without some plans! 😀

      1. George Orwell had a weekly column called As I Please and I think there is something to be said for adopting that approach to reading at least for a year and see how it fits in with the heavy work schedules…although I guess you might miss making those plans!

      2. I will still make some plans Ian. The control freak in me cannot rest easy 😀 But I guess, I will just go with the flow and see how the year pans out!!

Leave a Reply

