Books · Classics · Fiction · Fun · History · Humour · Literature · Non Fiction · Novels · Reading · Romance

New Month, One Rant & Some Old Books

The first month of 2017 is now over and to think 2017 had started! Time flies when you especially need more time! Don’t ask me why!

Anyhow February is here and I always have mixed feelings about this month. I get my annual bonus which is GREAT! Winter is still around, albeit to a lesser degree! Then this month, marks the celebration of Hindu Festival where we worship the Goddess of Knowledge, Saraswati – my personal favorite goddess, especially since the Goddess of Wealth, Lakhshmi is determine NEVER to look at me! But this month also brings on all the yucks and ughs related to the much hyped and completely commercialized Valentine’s day! I mean why the HELL do you need a special day to declare your love; I mean if you are in love with someone, why do you need to wait for bloody Feb 14th to express the same! Even the most sane and rational creatures become ridiculous to the point I do not want to know them. For instance, one of the most rational individuals that I know with brains of a genius and a heart of gold has suddenly taken to social network posting love coated honey dripped messages for his fiance which makes me want to take out my Kate Middleton barf bag!! Ugh! I mean do not get me wrong, I am a die hard romantic and I love this couple who are two of most wonderful people I know and have the good fortune to call friends, but WHY the HELL does the 500+ friends on FB have to sit by and listen to your undying and unending declarations of love, considering they will be attending you wedding in less than a month and witness it live anyway??? I am not being Groucho Marx but this day is beyond ridiculous! The other day I went to buy a dress for some social event I need to attend and all I could see was red and purple….I mean really? The half brained sales assistant infact tried to see me a red velvet monstrosity saying it was perfect for Valentines’s assuming naturally if I am buying a dress in this season, well duh! it has to for the stupid Valentine’s day!!!! What the hell is wrong with you people? Ok…deep breaths! Rant over! February also means Spring which is like two weeks in this geography will follow and then….shudder!horror! Summers are here! Oh! I need to migrate to some colder climate, I CANNOT take this heat any longer!

Atleast there are books to tide me over! Unfortunately I am as I had foreseen at the beginning of the year, very limited time of reading and when I do find time to read, I have very little energy to tackle a classic as much as I love reading it! My brain aches for some light reading and I am constantly worried that I will lose all my intellect if I keep perusing, you know light weight material! So I march forward, trying to complete The Histories with Herodutus. I am also trying to get a move on Captivity byย Gyรถrgy-Spirรณ, though like The Histories, my progress is beyond slow! My consolation – well, slow and steady, the tortoise did win the race! I am also loving Wendy Doniger’s The Hindus; this alternate historic telling of India’s past is very interesting, though I seem to disagree with her at several junctures. I also continue with The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens, the only reading event I seem not to be lagging behind. As of now I am simply sticking to calling out these three books since I am sure, I will be randomly reading up other books per my time and mood and what I see on other’s blog! Besides the fact that this month has less days, means more work at work to meet those deadlines!! Can I simply fast-forward the next 1o months and reach December??? I guess not! Oh! Well! Onward Christian Solider and all that!

After my rant, it is only fair that I leave you with some laughs –

9 thoughts on “New Month, One Rant & Some Old Books

  1. I don’t know, but my guess is that Valentine’s Day exists because most men are pathetically inept at remembering to express their love on a regular basis, so they need a special day to remind them. Just sayin’ ……. ๐Ÿ˜‰ In any case, take a deep breath, Cirtnecce. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I know …. isn’t our lack of reading time terrible?! I don’t know what’s happened. Each year it seems to get worse. I am enjoying Herodotus though and hope to start a couple of other reads this month. I don’t have much hope but a wee little bit of hope shining through the clouds is better than nothing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Cleo..I know what you mean! But do you feel one day makes up for 364 days of ingratitude? Just asking! ๐Ÿ˜‰ At any case, I am very good with expressing gratitude; my problem is when one becomes an imbecile while trying to do it! I completely agree…a little bit of wee hope is better than nothing!! Here’s hoping this month allows both you and me sufficient reading time!

    1. It’s not about liking…its about how the commercial world forces you to celebrate it and sensible folks do not even stop to think before jumping on the train!! Thank you…desperately seeking reading time

Leave a Reply

