Tags

, , , , ,

I was planning to review Beowulf Read Along hosted by Cleo. But then I came across the Twenty Bookish Questions post by Corinne and my plans took a turn. It’s has been a stressful week. I had to deal with a lot of Six Sigma kinda of stuff for the interview which I had mentioned in one my previous posts. Therefore, this seemed like a fun – stressbuster thing to do before I plunged into my usual book reviews. (I promise Cleo to review Beowulf next for sure)

Therefore without much further ado, I plunge in –

  1. Favorite childhood book

It’s a toss-up between Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A.Milne and very little known outside of East India, a collection of folk tales that have delighted generation of readers from my grandmother, to my mum and to me; it’s called Thakurmar Jhuli literary meaning Grandmother’s tales and its was compiled by Dakshinaranjan Mitra Majumdar

  1. What are you reading right now?

A Time of Gifts Sir Patrick Leigh Fermor, Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell and The Custom of the Country by Edith Wharton

  1. What books do you have on request at the library?

Out of Africa by Karen Blixen and Black Lamb and Grey Falcon: A Journey Through Yugoslavia by Dame Rebecca West

  1. Bad book habit

I get distracted by too many books. I may be in the middle of 4 books and suddenly a review will make me put them on hold while I plough through the 5th book.

  1. What do you currently have checked out at the library?

Nothing. I have bought way too many books recently!

  1. Do you have an e-reader?

Sigh! Yes! Kindle! (Surprise! Surprise!)

  1. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?

Not too long ago, I used to read one book at time, now I read several together. For reasons why, please see the next answer!

  1. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?

Absolutely. To begin with I have started reading several books at the same time because. I see so many good books out there and the TBR is never going to see an end. I have also started reading many things outside my comfort zone basis recommendations and suggestions by fellow bloggers – books that I would have never read earlier!

  1. Least favorite book you’ve read this year

I stem the tide of unpopularity again and state once more – The Awakening by Kate Chopin

  1. Favorite book you’ve read this year:

Too many to list – but competing for top position are The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro, Howard’s End by EM Foster

  1. How often do you read outside of your comfort zone?

More lately than I had before; again this is change that has come about since I started blogging as I come across more and more books which while completely outside of what genres I read, are so very wonderful

  1. What is your reading comfort zone?

Classics, especially Regency/Victorian era classics, Historical Fiction, War books

  1. Can you read on the bus?

Yes! Have been doing that since as a kid used to take bus to school and used the half an hour ride to read more – naturally not school books!

  1. Favorite place to read:

My bed! Its huge and comfortable!

  1. What is your policy on book lending?

I am not lending because no one GIVES it back, especially non reader variety!

  1. Do you dog-ear your books?

I used to until I moved in with my flatmate, who insists that books should be kept in pristine condition!

  1. Do you write notes on the margins of your books?

Not in the books, because I like my books to look shiny and new, but I do have book diary that is constantly paired off with whatever book I am reading!

  1. Do you break/crack the spines?

Yes…especially those I read again and again!

  1. What is your favorite language to read?

English and Bengali

  1. What makes you love a book?

So many things – history, plot, the characters, the language, the truth of lives that the author may bring out!

  1. What will inspire you to recommend a book?

That I like the book!

  1. Favorite genre:

Historical Fiction

  1. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did):

Science – Thanks to Stefanie, I am venturing into reading more science books, but I have a long way to go!

  1. Favorite biography:

Jane Austen: A Life by Claire Tomlin

  1. Have you read a self-help book (and was it helpful)?

Several, especially Management self-help books and forgotten them all!

  1. Favorite cook book:

None…me is the Masterchef of my kitchen!

  1. The most inspirational book you’ve read this year:

Well it is June, so technically any book between June last year to date – in which no surprise, one book that teaches me and inspires me every time I read it – To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee; re-read November 2014

  1. Favorite reading snack:

Sandwich, chocolates, instant noodles, fruits, water, wine…give it all!!!

  1. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience

Time for more brickbats – Madame Bovary by Gustav Flaubert!! Shudder!!

  1. How often do you agree with the critics about a book?

Most often and then there are DIFFERENCES and the twain shall never meet!

  1. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?

Not good; because I am at the end of the day negating someone’s hard work! I try not to be completely negative, until the book just sucked off my patience!

  1. If you could read in a foreign language, which would it be?

Russian – to read War and Peace in original!

  1. Most intimidating book I’ve ever read

I thought it was intimidating, but thanks to Cleo, I really enjoyed it – Beowulf

  1. Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

  1. Favorite Poet

Robert Browning and Christina Rossetti

  1. How many books do you generally have checked out of the library at a given time?

4 or 5 unless I have bought a stack of books

  1. How often do you return books to the library unread?

Many times – too many to count!

  1. Favorite fictional character

I cannot stop at one, you should thank your stars I am stopping at 3 only – Atticus Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird, Ashton Pelham Martin from The Far Pavillions and more recently Margaret Schlegel from Howards End

  1. Favorite fictional villain:

Cathy Ames from East of Eden and Napoleon from Animal Farm

  1. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Xanadu by William Darlymple and anything else that I might fancy at that point in time!

  1. The longest I’ve gone without reading

Never – can’t remember a time when I did not read or was not read to!!!

  1. What distracts you easily when you’re reading

When people show up at my apartment without prior intimation and expect me to play the gracious hostess, especially on a Sunday night when I am rushing madly through a books before Monday start…aaaarrrggggghhhhh!!!

  1. Name a book you could not finish

Way too many to name!!

  1. Favorite film adaption of a novel

Mini Series – The 1995 BCC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice starring Jennifer Elhe and Colin Firth

  1. The most disappointing film adaptation

Harry Potters adaptations since The Goblet of Fire

  1. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time

Don’t even get me started!

  1. How often do you skim a book before reading it?

A bit, to get a flavor and if it tallies with blurb in the back!

  1. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through it?

Bad plots, inaccurate history, nonsensical characters especially the dew eyed butter melts in her mouth heroine types,

  1. Do you like to keep your books organized?

Like to – Yes; Do I – No!

  1. Do you prefer to keep your books when done, or give them away?

Always keep them – each book is a part of me and it’s a personal belonging and CANNOT be given away

  1. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf and A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

  1. Name a book that made you angry

So many …let it be for now

  1. A book I didn’t expect to like but did

The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald

  1. A book I expected to like but didn’t

Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse – muddled Indian spirituality at its worst!

  1. Favorite guilt-free guilty-pleasure reading

1857 Indian Mutiny and World War books

