Books · Classic Club · Classics · Fiction · Literature · Novels · Reading

Spining in 2016

I was planning to blog about March reading plans and get myself a pat on the back for adhering so well to the Jan and Feb reading plans; however as I opened wordpress, I saw a notification from The Classic Club, a notification that I just could not ignore! It was naturally for a Spin event, the #12 in the series and the first one of 2016. Over the years I have read such wonderful books as well as some oh!-I-can-so-have-done-without-this books through the Spin, but they have all been an uniformly enriching and interesting experience! Therefore there was no way in the world I was missing this spin. The rules remain simple as always and I quote directly from the The Classic Club Page

  • At your blog, by next Monday, March 7, list your choice of any twenty books you’ve left to read from your Classics Club list — in a separate post.
  • This is your Spin List. You have to read one of these twenty books in March & April. (Details follow.) So, try to challenge yourself.
  • Next Monday, we’ll post a number from 1 through 20. The challenge is to
  • read whatever book falls under that number on your Spin List, by May 2, 2016.

Thus, the List –

  1. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez
  2. Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? by Edward Albee
  3. Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett
  4. The Wings of Dove by Henry James
  5. Death in Venice by Thomas Mann
  6. Cry, the Beloved Country by Alan Paton
  7. Scoop by Evelyn Waugh
  8. Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather
  9. The Name of a Rose by Umberto Eco
  10. A Room with a View by M Forster
  11. The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy
  12. The House of Seven Gables by Nathanie Hawthorne
  13. Of Human Bondage by Somerset Maugham
  14. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez
  15. The Small House at Allington by Anthony Trollope
  16. The Tempest by William Shakespeare
  17. As I lay Dying by William Faulkner
  18. Nostromo by Joseph Conrad
  19. Hunger by Knut Hamsum
  20. I Claudius by Robert Graves

Finally I now sit back and await Monday!

22 thoughts on “Spining in 2016

  1. Best of luck for a great title! I haven’t read any of these, so I can’t send out an “I hope you get ____,” but I hope you get something good. 🙂

  2. Great list! Of Human Bondage is just wonderful, one of my all-time favorites — it’s long, but absolutely worth it. A Room with a View is also wonderful, I’ve read it many times. Scoop is pretty hilarious (and a quick read); and I recently finished Return of the Native, which I really enjoyed. If you like audiobooks, there’s an edition narrated by Alan Rickman that is wonderful if you can get your hands on it. Good luck with your spin pick!

    1. Thank you. I have read some Maugham, but not all. This was my mom’s favorite too! I have really developed a deep liking for Forster and I hope to read all his works one day! Alan Rickman…wow!! I am not much of audiobook fan but Rickman is Rickman! Thank You and happy reading to you too!

    1. hahhhaaaaa…Brona! Done! Death In Venice is formidable and a reading buddy is most needed! Lets do it…if its not part of the Spin, sometime in the upcoming months!

  3. I just saw that the CC Spin is #8, so you get Cather. So far, I have thoroughly enjoyed three of her books – well, Song of the Lark was a little slow moving – but I am anxious to read Death Comes for the Archbishop! Hope you enjoy it.

    1. Thank you and this is the first time that I have gotten something I wanted to read as part of the Spin! I LOVE Cather and this is something I have been dying to read forever!

Leave a Reply

